Help us keep the lights on by shopping at Amazon

Home Networking

Talk about anything.
User avatar
wags83
Moderator
Posts: 13441
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: New Hope, MN
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby wags83 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 9:28 am

I'm still rocking the Arris SB6141. Been plugging along for the last few years and I don't have an internet option that would make me need a 3.1 yet.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:03 pm

I hate Ethan. I've had to reset my modem 6 times today. I'm going to Walmart to buy a different 3.1 modem to see if it's my issue or ISP.
User avatar
DannyFanny
Top Contributor
Posts: 4339
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:01 pm
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby DannyFanny » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:36 pm

How is this Ethan's fault? Did you jinx your luck with Netgear brand?
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

RE: Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:40 pm

DannyFanny wrote:How is this Ethan's fault? Did you jinx your luck with Netgear brand?
Because he said he had bad luck with that brand!

Of course I just get home from Target and now mediacom is showing outages. So I'll wait to hook this new one up

Edit: We are back up. Jocelyn also found the neighborhood group with all the people complaining about bad service today so it wasn't my modem! Get to return it to Target later.
User avatar
DannyFanny
Top Contributor
Posts: 4339
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:01 pm
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby DannyFanny » Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:29 pm

That's what happened to me, but I kept the modem.
User avatar
ejhartman91
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby ejhartman91 » Mon Apr 19, 2021 4:09 pm

We had several outages this morning. One lasting as long as 15 minutes. I just watched the lights on my modem change and could tell my wife when the service came back. Didn't touch the modem once.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Mon Apr 19, 2021 4:20 pm

ejhartman91 wrote:Source of the post We had several outages this morning. One lasting as long as 15 minutes. I just watched the lights on my modem change and could tell my wife when the service came back. Didn't touch the modem once.

Other than the last outage that lasted over an hour, my micro outages didn't change the light on the modem, that is why I thought it was in my house.

Dang Mediacom!!!!
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:11 pm

After a year and 2 different wifi cards, I finally committed to drilling a hole in the wall for an ethernet. Why didn't I do this sooner?! Even with my nice wifi card and fancy prosumer network, being hardwired instantly doubled my speeds.

Plus no one will even see the hole since it is in the guestroom closet. I feel silly for waiting a year to do something that took 5 minutes and is vastly better.
User avatar
DannyFanny
Top Contributor
Posts: 4339
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:01 pm
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby DannyFanny » Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:28 pm

Tyler wrote:Source of the post Plus no one will even see the hole since it is in the guestroom closet.


Big mistake, we are all going to look for it when we stay at your house.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:43 pm

DannyFanny wrote:Source of the post Big mistake, we are all going to look for it when we stay at your house.

Nooooo!!!!!!!!!
User avatar
bmyoungs
Moderator
Posts: 5218
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:20 pm
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby bmyoungs » Sun Apr 25, 2021 2:33 pm

Added a 3rd mesh point in my basement, it worked mostly fine without it, but who's content with mostly fine wifi now.

Sent from my Pixel 4a (5G) using Tapatalk
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: RE: Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Sun Apr 25, 2021 2:37 pm

bmyoungs wrote:Added a 3rd mesh point in my basement, it worked mostly fine without it, but who's content with mostly fine wifi now.

Sent from my Pixel 4a (5G) using Tapatalk
Nice. You can do so much PC VR streaming now.

I think I'll recommend Google Wifi for my sister for their new house. They haven't asked for my help or a recommendation, but I'll try to make them buy it
User avatar
ejhartman91
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby ejhartman91 » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:23 am

bmyoungs wrote:Added a 3rd mesh point in my basement, it worked mostly fine without it, but who's content with mostly fine wifi now.

Sent from my Pixel 4a (5G) using Tapatalk
Our basement is almost finished! Remaining work getting completed this week! I'll likely buy a 2nd nest wifi router for down there.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
User avatar
Corey
Site Admin
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:09 am
Contact:

Re: Home Networking

Postby Corey » Mon Apr 04, 2022 8:10 am

Did some cable management this past weekend.

Before and afterImageImage
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Mon Apr 04, 2022 8:38 am

Looks much better!! That screen wasn't doing a very good job of hiding it. I like how you mounted the patch panel, someone must have provided you some great feedback on that.

What is that Wyze cam looking at? Your printer when it is running? Your printer needs a proper home! Get a 2x4 shelf from Menards and some track mounts. Go 2x8, move the wire shelf up, and have a full work bench right there.

Really the wire rack can be removed, it is only holding a power strip lol.
User avatar
Corey
Site Admin
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:09 am
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Corey » Mon Apr 04, 2022 1:06 pm

Tyler wrote:Source of the post Looks much better!! That screen wasn't doing a very good job of hiding it. I like how you mounted the patch panel, someone must have provided you some great feedback on that.

What is that Wyze cam looking at? Your printer when it is running? Your printer needs a proper home! Get a 2x4 shelf from Menards and some track mounts. Go 2x8, move the wire shelf up, and have a full work bench right there.

Really the wire rack can be removed, it is only holding a power strip lol.


The camera is basically just looking in the utility room if I ever get curious if my basement is flooding or something. I have way too many extra cameras laying around so I threw it up there.

Image
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Mon Apr 04, 2022 1:26 pm

Corey wrote:Source of the post I have way too many extra cameras laying around so I threw it up there.

Just send them all to me. I need more looking at my printers for no reason.

Very organized room. You splurged for the good totes.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Mon Apr 04, 2022 3:04 pm

I want to play!

I got a new big boy switch in the mail today. Was able to ditch the 3 minis that I had Daisy chained together. One of the minis got moved to the 3D printers, but I have 2 to sell now.

I am deliberately only showing the top shelf of my networking closet because the rest of it is a mess. Same with behind it. It's real bad.
My new switch provides POE, so I was able to get rid of 2x POE injectors as well for my APs

Before
Image

After
Image
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 35697
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Home Networking

Postby Tyler » Thu Apr 14, 2022 11:33 am

My 3D printed mini rack was melting due to the heat. Splurged and got this fancy one with a built in fan

I fit 3 pis, Samsung smartthings, and my smart garage door gateway in it Image

Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tbot and 6 guests