Help us keep the lights on by shopping at Amazon

Oculus Rift + Touch

User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:39 am

Oculus store bundles will now adjust their price if you already own a game(s) that's included in the bundle.
User avatar
bmyoungs
Moderator
Posts: 4386
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:20 pm
Contact:

Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby bmyoungs » Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:28 pm

Tyler wrote:Oculus store bundles will now adjust their price if you already own a game(s) that's included in the bundle.
That's really cool actually

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:13 am

Wags, did you get your 3rd sensor set up? Wall mounting them so they don't move? I've found that if a sensor even gets bumped it can mess up the guardian system.

Do you have a USB card already? 3rd sensor can use USB 2.0
User avatar
wags83
Moderator
Posts: 10450
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Golden Valley, MN
Contact:

Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby wags83 » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:33 am

I haven't set it up yet but I had already installed a USB card when I first got the Rift. I think I'll probably mount them, I just need to decide how I want the room to be permanently set up.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: RE: Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:58 am

wags83 wrote:I haven't set it up yet but I had already installed a USB card when I first got the Rift. I think I'll probably mount them, I just need to decide how I want the room to be permanently set up.
You better get it done before tomorrow night!
User avatar
wags83
Moderator
Posts: 10450
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Golden Valley, MN
Contact:

Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby wags83 » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:31 pm

Tyler wrote:Source of the post
wags83 wrote:I haven't set it up yet but I had already installed a USB card when I first got the Rift. I think I'll probably mount them, I just need to decide how I want the room to be permanently set up.
You better get it done before tomorrow night!

If there's one app that needs a 3rd sensor, it's BigScreen.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: RE: Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:52 pm

Tyler wrote:VR Roundtable podcast did a good episode today on all of the Oculus news from last week. They covered some of the software stuff that didn't get talked about as much as the hardware announcements. The menus are going to be changing a lot for us.
I like the new pause menu a lot, it's nice being able to see your desktop during a game. You can even pull a window put and see it during the game play. I watched a YouTube tutorial while doing it in game, all without taking the headset off.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:14 pm

The 45 seconds it takes to get the headset out of the closet, plug it in, and unwrap the cords is sometimes enough of a turnoff not to mess with VR. I might a slight update today to help with this.

I use to keep my 10ft extension cables coiled up and just resting on top of the computer tower. I ran them behind my desk and into the drawer area. I can now keep the headset in the bottom drawer (needs to be cleaned out some more still). I can keep the headset plugged in. When I want to play I just need to open the drawer and put it right now.

No more plugging/unplugging between sessions and my desk area has slightly less clutter thanks to the extension cables no longer being out all the time.

ImageImageImage
User avatar
wags83
Moderator
Posts: 10450
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Golden Valley, MN
Contact:

Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby wags83 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:41 am

I always have mine plugged in too, but I haven't figured out a good storage method so it just sits on an empty portion of the desk.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:20 am

Something I never checked, but read recently. This is suppose to help with performance:

Launch SteamVR
In the SteamVR tray, click SteamVR, then click Settings
In the Audio tab, configure the audio to output to the Rift when SteamVR is open, then go back to your speakers when it is closed (example)
In the Developer tab, disable (ie. untick) 'Enable VR Dashboard'
In the Performance tab, disable (ie. untick) both Reprojection options (at the botttom)
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:39 pm

Tyler wrote:Source of the post Something I never checked, but read recently. This is suppose to help with performance:

Launch SteamVR
In the SteamVR tray, click SteamVR, then click Settings
In the Audio tab, configure the audio to output to the Rift when SteamVR is open, then go back to your speakers when it is closed (example)
In the Developer tab, disable (ie. untick) 'Enable VR Dashboard'
In the Performance tab, disable (ie. untick) both Reprojection options (at the botttom)

Made these changes and was excited to try out some new games I got from the Steam Sale...and neither game worked. The menu was also above my head in the Oculus screen. This is what I get for allowing unsupervised kids to play it all night on Friday. Reinstalling Oculus hoping that fixes it.

Controllers seem to be tracking okay in the home screen, just weird in game and the toolbar thing.
User avatar
Tyler
Owner
Posts: 26857
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Oculus Rift + Touch

Postby Tyler » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:16 am

All is right with the world. It took 90 minutes to download the 4gb Oculus software, but it fixed my problems

Return to “Video Games and VR/AR”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests